top of page
Search
  • amandakennedy871

Delaying the Day in Spain

Between Junior and Senior years of college I had the opportunity to study abroad in Spain. The first time I went out of the country ever, and I got to go with my college bestie! A part of the course for the study abroad we had to keep journal entries. I figured I could use that assignment (we also had to create a blog) to help me in this travel blogging journey. These are some highlights of places and experiences during my trip.


My experiences from Spain are from 2015...practically a lifetime ago at this point. For those of you who are nervous about traveling abroad, I was too! What I learned quickly, most people are bilingual (which I am not). I was on the trip to finish my last two Spanish credits for my history degree. I took 3 years of Spanish in high school, 2 semesters of Spanish prior to this trip my junior year and spent a month in Spain, I am still only fluent enough to say my name. Most people in Spain want to practice their English with Americans, like anywhere else I would suggest you also learn some phrases to be polite.


Tips

Some things I wish I new visiting Spain for the first time. Also some of my suggestions for places to try!

  1. Do not expect A/C in local areas. You will find a/c in restaurants or hotels that cater to Americans

  2. Most Europeans hang their clothes to dry, be prepared for this if you plan to do laundry

  3. Try the Calimocho in Burgos! (Cocoa Cola and Red Wine) Trust me on this.

  4. Siestas are a serious deal. And I do not blame them


Siesta to Fiesta

Siesta's are a huge thing in Burgos (where I happened to do my study abroad). I did not feel this shut down of life with Barcelona, it is a huge deal in other areas of the country though. Do not expect businesses to be open during this time of rest. People leave work for extended time to take their siestas, which in turn allows for a night life within the city. People of all ages are out and about during the nights due to later starts and siestas during the day. Be sure you get Tapas (appetizers that can be made into meals) when you go out for drinks.


Oh the places to go!

Catedral De Burgos

This beautiful UNESCO site is found in the heart of Burgos. This cathedral's construction began in 1221 and has gothic style influences on the outside of the building. This cathedral was my first experience with true gothic style. Honestly this picture does not do it any justice. One awesome thing I was able to do was listen to a classical musical concert in the courtyard. Check for events hosted at the cathedral.

Camino De Santiago

The way of St James, a punch of pilgrimages ending in to the shrine of the apostle Saint James the Great in the cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in Galicia in northwestern Spain. We were able to walk a portion of this pilgrimage in Burgos. There is a lot of different routes that can be take to Santiago. Originating during the Medieval Times, this pilgrimage has religious roots. Many people now do this pilgrimage for many other reasons. Whatever your reason, this "walk" can take you through some beautiful places. be sure to find the shells and follow the path. For more information I suggest looking at this website for planning: https://www.pilgrimagetraveler.com/way-of-st-james.html

Bilbao and San Sebastian

We had one day in the weekend to experience these two cities. In Bilbao you will find the Guggenheim Museum. During our outing the majority of the group chose to explore the city for some window shopping. I can say there is some amazing gelato in this city and I got an introduced to Zara Home.


San Sebastian I had the opportunity to experience Europe beaches. Be prepared to witness topless women everywhere. It is normal for beachgoers to forgo the top when out on the beach. This a beach city near the French border, the water is super cold here, from what I remember. But the views were fantastic


Between these two cities is about an hour's drive. You would be able to see both in a day like we did, but I am sure it be better as a weekend journey. Below is the low iPhone 5 (maybe 6) picture of the beaches in San Sebastian.

Pamplona

Have you ever heard of the Running of the Bulls? San Fermín Festival is held every July 7-14th, while I did not run in this festival it has been one of my biggest travel regrets, I did watch some friends run. Spectators are welcome to watch from the streets. If you want to run I suggest you read up on the rules to keep yourself from being kicked out of the race. Aside from the running you can tell the entire city is celebrating, so be prepared for smelly and gross streets. Plan ahead for hotels as well, this was a last minute decision to go. We ended up sleeping in a field with a bunch of other people who did not have accommodations.


Barcelona

The views in Barcelona are a must. The Sagrada Familia as seen below was under construction when I visited (and like still is). The expected completion date from my most recent google search is 2026. Construction of this Basilica began in 1882 and has been under construction since. This is a crazy idea for me that this building has been undergoing construction for over 140 years and still years from completion.



Aside from sight seeing beautiful architecture you can enjoy Sangria on the Beach. One interesting fact I learned was that the beaches here are man-made. It was the 1992 Olympics that the country imported sand for the beaches. This is one city I really want to see again in my life time.








0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page